Hammer Time

dYquem 2001

There was another fayne wayne auction at Dunbar Sloane’s yesterday.

I had my eye on picking up one of the 2005 Bordeaux lots on offer but the bidding got too rich for me. The wines may well be worth what was bid for them, but I’d rather invest that sort of wedge into fine New Zealand vintages and build my knowledge through wine tastings on the side.

A single bottle of Ch. Leoville Barton St-Julien 2005 went for $180 + buyer premium of 19.55%, and a bottle of Ch. Pontet-Canet Pauillac 2005 sold for $250. Even the modest Ch. Monbrison Margaux 2005 went for $65. I should have gone for that…

As for the three bottles of Jaboulet La Chapelle Hermitage 2009, they were snapped up for $340 apiece. And the 750ml bottle of Ch. d’Yquem 2001 (admittedly the finest vintage of the past 50 years)? It floated out the door for $800…

I have to leave for evening kid duty, so I left behind some absentee bids for an Ata Rangi Celebre Martinborough 1996 and a fivesome of various Villa Maria Reserve reds from 1986-1990…

I missed out. Bah!

I should have known – it is quite rare for an absentee bid to beat the room. Next auction, I’ll have to attend with more readies and more time!

 


Leave a comment